J. Cat Beauty Review

Hi guys! So J. Cat Beauty was kind enough and sent me some of their lip products to review. Lets go!

DISCLAIMER: I received these products complimentary for review purposes. All opinions are my own regardless and I am not being paid for this review.

Some info on the company: (taken from their website)

J.Cat Beauty launched in 2012 at Los Angeles California. J.Cat Beauty provides quality fashion forward products with not just  vivacious colors, but also provide skin benefit  elements in each collection. We’re the cosmetic line that offers hundreds of products designed for the savvy makeup enthusiast whose imagination is as fierce as a feline  and runs free with our intense hues without breaking the bank. J. Cat Beauty, we stay ahead of the fashion movement  and cater to your love for style and makeup.  We did not sacrifice formula or style for light weight pricing either. We’re heavy on sparkle  shimmer, color and quality makeup that benefits your skin with every wear.  We at J. Cat Beauty, know where the heart of the Cosmetic Junkie is, because ours beat the same tune!

Okay! So let’s keep going.

  1. Matte Lipstick Diary ($4.99)

So I received three to review in the shades, 110, 111, and 117. I absolutely love these! They are all very pigmented, and although they are not 100% matte, (I would say 85%) they are actually hydrating, which is something that is not very common in matte lipsticks. They are also very pigmented and are completely opaque with just one swipe (see swatches below.) They are also very easy to build and last a long time. The packaging is plastic and does feel somewhat cheap, but for only $4.99 I totally recommend these.

IMG_1411-1.JPG

These are swatches of shades 110, 111, and 117 (from left to right) on my arm. I will include the colors on my lips below.

MLD 110 Am I Ready?

This shade is a really fun blossom pink with lots of pigmentation (like all of them LOL) and no streakiness whatsoever. This color would probably suit lighter skin tones but seriously, anyone can rock this color. I would totally recommend this color for the spring.

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 8.18.29 PM.png

MLD 111 (this lipstick is not on the website anymore :(.)

This shade was such a “me” color! It was a pink mauve color that would look beautiful on anyone. It glided on smoothly and hydrated my lips. I wished this was still on the website so you guys could buy it! It might just be out of stock, so I will update this post when it is on the site again.

IMG_2190.jpg

MLD 117 Fun Make Out Day

This was a blue based and again, extremely pigmented red. I love blue based reds because they make your teeth look so white and really compliment my skin tone. This red is one of the few that won’t make you look clownish, but make you look (and feel!) like a bada*s. I wear red lipsticks to evening parties and I will be sure to use this. Also, did I mention that they’re only $4.99? That is such a great price for such a great product.

IMG_2234.jpg

Overall Rating: 4.5/5

This is because they are very hydrating with good pigmentation. The colors are also beautiful and universally flattering. The only problem is that they are not 100% matte, but I still recommend them!

 

2. Pout-Holic Lipstick ($4.99)

These are their “crazier” lipsticks, which means that they are generally colors that are for (in my opinion) costumes, not everyday wear. I received shades PHL 107 #FOTD Fashion Of The Day and PHL 109 #FBF Flashback Fri. These kind of remind me of the Lime Crime Unicorn Lipsticks, but these are cheaper. I have to say though, I would choose the Matte Lipstick Diary lipsticks over these because I generally don’t wear crazy colors and the pigmentation on the Matte Lipstick Diary lipsticks is slightly better. These are also very easy (if not easier) to build than the Matte Lipstick Diary lipsticks, so you can wear them sheer, opaque, or anything in between. This is unrelated to the product, but I also love how all of the names are different hashtags! It is a really fun idea.

IMG_1407-1.JPG

These are swatches of shades (from left to right) PHL 107 and PHL 109. I will include the colors on my lips below.

 

PHL 107 #FOTD Fashion Of The Day

This color looks green in the package and my hand, but it is a very pretty blueish turquoise on the lips. This would perfect for a mermaid look! It did take a few layers to show up opaque, but they are so easy to build (as I said before.)

IMG_2508.jpg

PHL 109 #FBF Flashback

This color really reminds me of Nicki Minaj. I’m not sure why, but it feels like I’ve seen her wear a color like this before. It is a very neon pink, with a hint of purple. This is more pigmented than the previous shade, in my opinion.

IMG_2301.jpg

Overall Rating: 3/5

This is because they aren’t as pigmented as the Matte Lipstick Diary lipsticks, and they are colors that I wouldn’t generally wear. I do recommend them for costume use because they are cheap and you may only use them a few times.

 

3. Liptitude 24/7 Hydrating Lip Stain ($5.99)

These are their new long lasting lip stains. They are extremely pigmented and come in a variety of colors. I love how they do moisturize my lips and last FOREVER. I received shades 108, 115, and 117 and I love them. When you apply them, you get a minty scent, which I love because some lip stains smell weird which is a complete turn off. These have a shiny and completely opaque finish. The packaging is a standard glass container with a plastic top that has a a flat applicator attached to it. I wish the applicator was a standard doe foot, but it isn’t bad.

IMG_1416.jpg

These are swatches of shades 108, 115 and 117 (from left to right) on my arm. I will include the colors on my lips below.

 

LLS 108 My Turn

This is a striking purple color, that is super chic and would be great for an evening event. It has the slightest amount of shimmer, almost giving it a metallic finish. It was the least pigmented out of the three colors, (took 2-3 coats to be fully opaque) but it was still very pigmented nonetheless.

IMG_2644.jpg

LLS 115 Blow Your Mind

As soon as I saw this I knew that I was going to love it. It is such a pretty medium pink color. It was so pigmented, that after one layer, it was totally opaque. This color is great for   a daytime look.

IMG_2364.jpg

LLS 117 Hikilicious (I hope I spelled it right)

This is similar to the previous shade, but it is more coral, depending on the lighting. It appears more pink in the picture, but in brighter light, it appears coral. This was also extremely pigmented.

IMG_2340.jpg

Overall Rating: 4/5

This is because I loved the extreme pigmentation and the hydration, but the applicator was a bit tricky to use. I also wish there were more natural colors. I do recommend these for people who like extreme pigmentation and fun colors.

 

This review was so fun to do so thank you J. Cat Beauty! What hat your favorite shade/product? Feel free to comment and ask any questions.

 

See you later,

Denise

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “J. Cat Beauty Review

Comments are closed.